Google rolling out ‘Incognito Mode’ for Maps, activity data deletion via Assistant

Google rolling out ‘Incognito Mode’ for Maps, activity data deletion via Assistant

google-rolling-out-‘incognito-mode’-for-maps,-activity-data-deletion-via-assistant

At Google I/O in May the company promised a range of new privacy controls, including preventing undesired location data collection. Accordingly, Google said it would enable Incognito Mode for Google Maps, which is rolling out later this month to Android devices and later to the iPhone.

Incognito Mode won’t collect location data. To date, users have been able to use Maps without being signed in, which is effectively the same thing as Incognito Mode. But now they can remain signed in and turn on Incognito Mode. When enabled, the places users search for won’t be saved or used for personalization. And those places won’t be saved in users’ location histories.

previously announced for Location History and Web Activity. Users can choose to save their activity for three months or 18 months “or until you delete it.”

Why we should care. These privacy controls are a good thing for consumers, and most marketers tend to agree. That’s because they promote trust and confidence.

While some number of people will use Incognito Mode in Maps it’s not going to have a material impact on Google’s ability to target ads or collect location data in the aggregate for analytics purposes.



About The Author

Twitter or find him on LinkedIn.

error: Content is protected !!