Instagram Gives Users More Control Over Data Shared With Third-Party Apps via @MattGSouthern
Instagram is introducing new features that give users more control over the data they share with third-party apps.
Users share Instagram data with third-parties when they link their account with other apps for the purpose of importing and exporting photos.
When Instagram users grant access to third-party apps they may also be sharing information other than photos, such as information contained in the users’ profiles.
Now, Instagram is making it easier for users to manage all of the information shared with third-parties.
‘Apps and Websites’ Setting
Users can now manage their connections to third-party apps by going into the Settings panel. From there, tap ‘Security’ and then tap ‘Apps and Websites.’
Within this new section of the Instagram app users will be able to remove any third-party services they no longer want to be connected to their Instagram account.
When a third-party service is removed, they will no longer have access to new data from a user’s Instagram account.
Going forward, when connecting with a third-party service for the first time, a new authorization screen will be displayed that lists all information being requested by the third-party. Users can then pick and choose how much information they wish to share.
These updates will be rolling out gradually over the next six months.